Too Good for a Fist of Five

To celebrate la Semana Santa ( they actually care about Easter here, even though they call it Passover (FAIL)), I headed north with five friends from Oasis to camp in the Valle del Elqui.  (Last time I traveled up here, we stayed in la Serena and Vicuña,  watched stars from some epic observatory, toured the Gabriela Mistral pisco distillery, and swam in the Pacific,  but I decided not to blog about it sorrrryyyy!).  But you know me, I never give up an opportunity to stay in a town named for a highly alcoholic beverage.

Anyhow, I wanted to present a clever list of occurrences, but unfortunately I’m such a shell of a person without Jumpstart that all I can think to do is this weekend’s pluses (+) and deltas ():

  • Bus rides
    • +  I wasn’t reading about violent organizations (what I was doing last time I was headed to La Serena… thanks, Sociología de Organización)
    • ∆  I wasn’t really doing anything “productive“–developing my philosophical autonomy and individuality is worthless (because I’m a woman…)
  • Campsite
    • +  The stars and fireside conversations were out of this world
    • ∆  The cars and quaint little house by our side were quite earthly.
  • Typical Chile
    • +  Palta.  Manjar.  Pisco.
    • ∆  Why hello, empty reception desk.
  • Food
    • +  Garlic cloves and apples roasted over an open fire
    • ∆  Kosher.  There, now I don’t have to explain what it is, and I maintain my right to not answer the why if I so chose.
  • Company
    • +  Nice mix of gringos and Chileans… yay Oasis!
    • ∆  2 blondes + 2 redbeards > 2 Chileans . . . People still yelled at us in English.
  • Hiking
    • ∆  We got utterly lost.  (Ha! I put the delta first!)
    • +  Utterly lost = horses, hiking up to a mirador with a cross, and Ranma 1/2
  • Holy week

Via Crucis —-sooo these seem to be a pretty popular thing in Latin American countries; at least, I feel I’ve heard about them primarily in Spanish classes over the last eight years of my life.  Oh wait, are they all Catholic?  Oh, yes they are.

One thought on “Too Good for a Fist of Five

Join in the conversation!

