Do You Realize? (Things I take for granted)

word...I know I said I wanted to finish writing about Spring break before I move to other things, but I’ll do that eventually.  I’ve been thinking about some of the everyday things in my non-Chilean life that I miss and wish I had here, but I honestly take them for granted.  This list doesn’t include things that I am consciously thankful for: like the Green Mountains, maple syrup, daily activities that I actively think about (’Mates, doing laundry) etc.  Here’s a snapshot!

  • Sleepytime Tea— Basically, chamomile or mint are the herbal tea options here.  Maybe boldo.
  • York peppermint patties–Thank heaven for my grandmother, who recently sent me some patties.  
  • Boys without mullets
  • Hugs from my family
  • Bathtubs–Apparently, they’re just not popular. Sometimes I just like to soak.
  • Apples–They’re mealy here.  Gross. 
  • Hugs from my friends HUGZZZZ!!
  • Clean dogs–I can count the number of dogs I’ve wanted to touch since arriving here on my hands.
  • Looking frumpy–At least in the States I don’t feel judged if I looked frumpy and my appearance is not rated daily by the number of catcalls I receive.
  • HUGS–You might notice this has been repeated.  I miss all the physical contact I have with everyone all the time…!
  • Bagels–I haven’t seen them. I really like them.  Also, pretzels.
  • Two-paned windows–At work I was talking about how we keep from being cold back in almost-Canada-land and mentioned central heating.  A co-worker then commented that we have two-paned windows.  I was like… YOU DON’T?  What is WRONG with you people?!
  • Lined paper–Yeah, I’ve said it before, but for some reason they don’t have normal paper here.
  • Smog-free/smoke-free areas

SO MANY HUGS!!!

Join in the conversation!

